Read Triumph of Achilles by Louise Glück Free Online

Ebook Triumph of Achilles by Louise Glück read! Book Title: Triumph of Achilles
The author of the book: Louise Glück
ISBN: 0880010827
ISBN 13: 9780880010825
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 23.57 MB
Edition: Ecco Press
Date of issue: May 1st 1987

Read full description of the books:

From the opening line ("It is not the moon, I tell you") Gluck claims absolute control of subject, craft, and perception. We see what we are instructed to see; we understand what Gluck insists we understand. Gluck's sensitivity to emotional nuance is extreme: "I ask you, how much beauty/ can a person bear? It is/ heavier than ugliness, even the burden/ of emptiness is nothing beside it." Her genius lies in her passionate restraint, a mingling of plain and elevated diction, a reliance on indirection and understatement. Resolution and revelation arise from the stately balance of poems which demand order from anarchy: "Why love what you will lose?/ There is nothing else to love." Gluck is foremost among her generation of poets and no collection should be without all four of her full-length books. - Rhoda Yerburgh, English Dept., Vermont Coll., Montpelier
Copyright 1985 Reed Business Information, Inc. (from Library Journal)

Read Ebooks by Louise Glück

Read information about the author

Ebook Triumph of Achilles read Online! Glück was born in New York City of Hungarian Jewish heritage and grew up on Long Island. Glück attended Sarah Lawrence College and later Columbia University.

Glück is the author of twelve books of poetry, including: "A Village Life" (2009); Averno (2006), which was a finalist for The National Book Award; The Seven Ages (2001); Vita Nova (1999), which was awarded The New Yorker's Book Award in Poetry; Meadowlands (1996); The Wild Iris (1992), which received the Pulitzer Prize and the Poetry Society of America's William Carlos Williams Award; Ararat (1990), which received the Library of Congress's Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry. Louise Glück has also published a collection of essays, Proofs and Theories: Essays on Poetry (1994), which won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for First Nonfiction.

In 2001 Yale University awarded Louise Glück its Bollingen Prize in Poetry, given biennially for a poet's lifetime achievement in his or her art. Her other honors include the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, the Sara Teasdale Memorial Prize (Wellesley, 1986), the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1993 for her collection, [The Wild Iris]. Glück is the recipient of the National Book Critics Circle Award (Triumph of Achilles), the Academy of American Poet's Prize (Firstborn), as well as the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Anniversary Medal (2000), and fellowships from the Guggenheim, Rockefeller foundations and the National Endowment for the Arts.

She has also been a member of the faculty of the University of Iowa and taught at Goddard College in Vermont in addition to previously being a Senior Lecturer in English at Williams College in Williamstown, MA. Glück currently lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts and teaches at Yale University, where she is the Rosencranz Writer in Residence, and in the Creative Writing Program of Boston University.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Triumph of Achilles

Read EBOOK Triumph of Achilles by Louise Glück Online free

Download PDF: triumph-of-achilles.pdf Triumph of Achilles PDF